Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Kansas Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
Are you looking to get married in Kansas? Then there are some things you need to know about how to obtain a marriage license and make your wedding official. First off, you usually able to apply for your marriage license at any of Kansas’s clerk office locations within the county you plan to be wed. You can find these clerk office locations within the county probate court or circuit court.

The marriage license fee in Kansas is $50 and only accepts cash and money orders. You are not required to be a current or previous resident of Kansas to apply for a marriage license that I valid throughout the state. After paying the license fee, there is a 3 day mandatory waiting period. Most states don’t count Saturdays, Sundays or holidays. In Kansas, the day you apply for the application is not included in the waiting period. You are able to get married right after getting the marriage license.

For you to be able to get married without a parent’s consent, the two partners must be 18 years of age or older. If you are on the younger side of the spectrum, it would be wise to bring along your birth certificate to show proof that you are of legal age to be wed. If one of the partners is not of legal age, it is required that he or she brings a parental consent form that has been signed by legal guardians. You will also need to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate.

There are no requirements of a blood test or physical exam in the state of Kansas. The marriage license expires six months after the issue date. If one of the partners had been previously married but is now divorced or widowed, the date of spouse’s death or date of the divorce must be provided.

After your wedding, you will receive a marriage certificate indicating that you were legally married in Kansas. This then can be used for the process of changing the last name of the wife. The certificate will need to be presented to various government agencies when you begin to notify them. Banks, employers, credit card agencies, memberships and others will need to be presented with the marriage certificate to change the name on the records.

Also available is the legal name change kit. This should be completed before the day of the wedding to eliminate the hassle of dealing with it post marriage. Completion of all the required documents is necessary and should be conveniently done before the marriage ceremony.

Marriages that are not allowed in this state include same sex marriage, cousin marriage and common-law marriage. Marriages by proxy are allowed In the state of Kansas.

When deciding to get married in the state of Kansas, it is highly recommended that you deal with the legal aspects of marriage beforehand, so that you won’t have to worry about it afterwards. Having your name changed shouldn’t be something to think about after the wedding.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us